A shoe story …. not that shoe story….

Bring to you live from Chapel Hill, here is Wesley….. and the Shoe story

<enter commercial break>

not-so-happy shoe.. worn-out... to be replaced...

not-so-happy shoe.. worn-out… replaced…

<return from commercial break>

reflecting on the Shoe Story process...

reflecting on the Shoe Story process…

Interviewer: Vanessa (genuinely interested in the subject)

Interviewee: Wesley (a 3rd year Media Studies student)

Recording device: iphone5

Tech-tools used:

  • GarageBand – (my Audacity was not working at the time)
  1. I edited out some of the ‘like, like, like, …’ !
  2. I played with fade-in/fade-out, but did not like the result so I un-did the attempts,
  3. I broke the interview into Part 1 and Part 2. My original concern was that the audio clip might be too long. But after I separated the track, I was really pleased at the result. The most part of Part 1 is to tell the story, and an narration of how the artist went about arranging for the videography. Part 1 ends strategically  on a thought provoking reflective phrase how to personify things like put themselves into other people’s shoes!  It provides a great segue into Part 2 which is mainly a reflection and self-assessment on the artist’s part.
  4. During the interview, there are noticeable camera shutter sounds (those are my sound effects, no…, just kidding… :D). Those were the two photographs I took using the same recording device. I considered tweaking/minimizing the sounds but, at the end, decided to leave them there because they add a little curiosity and whimsicality there.
  • SoundCloud
  1. It was easy to drop a sound file into the Cloud. Cris did a great job scaffolding the skills that we need for this project by giving us an exit task on SoundCloud after the class meeting last Thursday.
  2. However, embedding the audio track in WordPress is a bit challenging. I did exactly the same thing for both tracks, but one showed up in WordPress, while the other consistently displayed the link only.
    same technique, two results !

    same technique, two results !

    All these links....!! Which one is for WordPress?

    All these links….!! Which one is for WordPress?

  3. When I ‘share’d the track from SoundCloud, it gave me a popup with three options: Link, Widget Code, WordPress Code. Guess which one I chose the first time? Of course, #3! Isn’t that obvious!? The one that is dedicated to WordPress! Well, surprisingly, that one did not work. I then went to #2, then #1, I even tried the ‘pencil’, and the ‘Short’ link…. The result? I either got the same URL when ‘preview’ed, or nothing at all… the code completely disappeared after I returned to the editor.
  4. I Googled for expert opinions, I visited discussion forums…, thank goodness, I wasn’t the only one that experienced this kind of problem. But at the end of two hours of exploration, I finally sent out an S.O.S. , and went to sleep.
  5. I came back to WordPress the next day, and suddenly…. both tracks were embedded nicely in my blog! (I did not change a thing!!) >.<, The SoundCloud Genie must have come out last night to the rescue!!!
  6. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it will remain this way tomorrow!

Design elements attempted

  1. Trimming: the two ends, and some extended pauses were trimmed.
  2. Silence: Having silence in an interview does not work for me. I think it has its place definitely in a play or drama for building up the emotions, tension, etc. But this particular story is part-story-part-documentary.
  3. Fade in/ fade out, cross-fade: I attempted these, but decided that they were too distracting.
  4. Sound effects/music: I considered these briefly and forewent. Why? Here is my logic. Since this is a college student’s assignment, I intended to keep it at its purest form, most down-to-earth, honest, unscripted. I want the story to be told unedited. To match  his status as a student and to maintain a sense of academia, I consciously made an effect to have nothing fancy, nothing ‘dressed up’.  I was after the ‘transparent’ sound… of … sincerity and genuinity. The Art of Foley sound effects video is quite inspiring. It adds a very professional and sleek finish to the production. That will be for another time, another story.

If you are interest …… here is Wesley’s finished video production. Oh, the requirement for the assignment: Sounds Not Allowed!! 

2 thoughts on “A shoe story …. not that shoe story….

  1. Wow! Silence is golden in Wesley’s video, Joanne. You do find yourself focusing in on the visuals to see where the story is going. I really enjoyed the angle of view on the shots, low and pretty tight, beginning with the opening sequence.

    I thought the purchase scene in the mall was finessed very well, too. For future reference, I’ve needed to film in a retail store and Active Feet in Durham (Iredell St.) has always been generous to help.

    Thanks for sharing Wesley’s project. We’re making our way to video soon, and I know it will be great to have a filmmaker-in-residence!

Leave a Reply

